| | | | | | Contact
19th Annual PoleStar Awards
The Categories
Best feature in IT Journalism
(magazine / newpaper / online media)
Best Feature in Business Journalism (magazines / newspapers / online media)
Best Social Impact Projects in 4 different categories

- Education
- Livelihood
- Health
- Empowerment

Jury Special Recognition
Best Good News Feature (Print/online/video)
The PoleStar Award Winner
Takes Home
The PoleStar Trophy
A Citation
Rs. 2 lakhs prize money for Best Feature in IT and Business Journalism
Rs.1 lakh prize money for Jury Special Recognition
Rs. 1 lakh prize money for Best Good News Feature

Golden Moments

What is The PoleStar Award?
The PoleStar Award celebrates excellence in IT and business journalism. It is a prestigious recognition for Indian journalists. This Annual Award pays tribute to the media citizens' contribution, for their commitment to the nation and its people, and also for tirelessly acting as a catalyst in disseminating quality information to the world.
When was The PoleStar Award started?
The PoleStar Foundation instituted the PoleStar Award in 1998 to celebrate Excellence in IT & Business journalism.
Who is eligible for The PoleStar Award?
Only journalists who work with an Indian print or online publication are eligible for the Award.
What are the other criteria?
  • Reports / features / news stories that have appeared in the print or online medium between January 1, 2015, and December 31, 2015, qualify for The 18th Annual PoleStar Award.
  • A journalist is welcome to nominate himself/herself directly.
  • A journalist is entitled to send TWO entries PER nomination category
  • A journalist may send nominations for BOTH categories.
  • A journalist may nominate fellow journalists for the award.
  • All nominations should be sent through E-MAIL ONLY to polestarfoundation@gmail.com
What is the procedure to be followed in case of multiple bylines?
  • The nomination form for multiple byline stories should have the names of all the main contributors.
  • If the story is chosen as a winner in any category, the award will be shared by all the main contributors.
  • If one of the contributors is not willing to participate in the award, he/she has to express the same in writing and this note should be attached to the nomination form.
What are the award categories?

The Categories are

  • Best feature in IT journalism
  • Best feature in Business journalism

Please Note: Stories on management and business strategies of IT companies should be nominated in the Business Journalism category.

What is the time period for nomination?
  • Nomination window opens on June 01, 2016.
  • Last date for receiving nominations is June 30, 2016.
What are the stories eligible for being nominated under 'Best feature in IT Journalism' category?
Any article on Information Technology that has appeared in print or online medium is eligible. The stories need to be IT specific. Stories on management and business strategies of IT companies should be nominated in the Business Journalism category
What are the stories eligible for being nominated under 'Best feature in Business Journalism' category?
Any article on business / industry that has appeared in print or online medium is eligible. The stories need to be of interest to readers seeking business/ industry information.
Is the Award open to all publications?
The award is open only to Indian publications (print and online).
Does the entry have to be submitted by the publication or the journalist?
Journalists across the country may nominate themselves directly or get nominated by peers from the industry for the Award in any / both categories.
Can there be more than one entry per category by the same person?

A journalist is entitled to send TWO entries PER nomination category.

Can a freelancer nominate himself / herself?
Yes. A nominee can either be an IT writer, business writer, industry writer or a freelancer.
How does one send his / her nomination?
  • Please download the online nomination form that is available on this website.
  • Fill in all the details and attach either a link or a jpeg image of the nominated story and send it to polestarfoundation@gmail.com
  • Only online nominations will be accepted.
  • Please fill separate nomination forms for different categories.
  • Incomplete nomination forms will not be accepted.
  • Please note there is NO entry fee for sending in your nominations.
  • For any information/clarification please write to polestarfoundation@gmail.com
What are the parameters for judging an entry?
  • Please note that the PoleStar jury makes its judgment based on the nominated story only. The PoleStar jury reserves the right to accept or reject nominations

The nominated article is then rated on a scale of 1 – 10 by the jury using the following parameters:

  • Subject / Domain Knowledge
    • How well does the journalist know the subject of the story?
  • Writing / Presentation Style
    • The jury looks specifically for areas like presentation of facts, the writing style, the use of diagrams / charts / other pictorial depictions, the simplicity of language and the logical flow of thoughts.
    • Each piece is also judged on the time of its release to ascertain, specifically, its relevance and importance.
  • Overall Impact
    • Impact on the reader (validated / explained by the journalist in the nomination form) and impact on jury members
    • Quality of research, accuracy of forecast and other related factors will be taken into account.
  • Please note that based on the prevailing situation, the jury may develop new, more relevant criteria, which will also directly affect the decision pertaining to the winning piece.
Who comprises the panel of judges?

The PoleStar Award jury is an independent panel comprising respected, distinguished citizens, who will represent various walks of society. No member of The PoleStar Foundation, or their relatives, will be on the jury

Who have been on The PoleStar Award jury in the past?

The jury in the past has included the following personalities:

  • Abhay Gupte – CEO, Logica, India
  • Anand Sudarshan – CEO and MD, Manipal Education
  • Aruna Rao – CTO, Kotak Mahindra Bank
  • Arun Kumar N T – MD and Global Head, IB Operations (Offshore), UBS (India) Pvt. Ltd
  • Dr. Ashok Korwar – CEO Coach and Former Professor, IIM-A
  • Pradipta K. Mohapatra – Chairman & Co Founder, Coaching Foundation India Ltd.
  • Ramraj R – Co-Founder & Former CEO, Sify Ltd.
  • Uma Ratnam Krishnan – Head, Multi Channel Performance & Development Consumer Distribution, UK Retail, RBS Group.
  • Ashok Soota:Chairman, MindTree Consulting
  • Anil Metre: Publisher, A&M Magazine
  • Anand Sudarshan: CEO, Netkraft
  • Anand Parthasarathy: Freelance writer and blogger
  • Ashoke Dutt: Head, Citibank
  • Dr. Mukesh Aghi: President, Tata IBM
  • E. Raghavan: Editor, South, The Economic Times
  • Ganesh Natarajan: CEO, Zensar Technologies
  • Harish Bijoor: CEO, Harish Bijoor Consults Inc.
  • J.S.Raju: Editor, Computers Today
  • Late Dewang Mehta: President, NASSCOM
  • L.Subramanyan: Vice President, TVS Finance
  • Mallika Srinivasan: Director, TAFE
  • Ratnam V.Balaraman: Director – Exports, HLL
  • Srinivasan Swamy: R.K.Swamy, BBDO
  • Somnath Chaudhari: Editor, ITSpace.com\
  • S.Rajalakshmi: Director, STPI
  • U.Jayraj Rau: Vice President, Hindustan Thompson Associates
  • Chand Das: CEO, Education & Stationery Products Business, ITC
  • VDavid Appasamy: Management Consultant
  • Pravir Vohra: Former President & Group CTO, ICICI Bank Limited
  • Vijayalakshmi Rao: Business Advisor & Mentor
Copyright © The Polestar Foundation